Allpar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
943 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read a lot of questions/threads around the internet concerning rusting strut towers on 96-00 minivans. As the owner of a 1998 Caravan that has its strut towers attacked by the tinworm, I have some good experience and done a lot of research on it.

Unlike most cars, where the strut towers are in the middle of the fender area, the Caravan has it strut towers affixed in the far corner between the fender and firewall. Thus, if water leaks in from the hood, it puddles in the corner and eats away at the tower. Now, (this is an original theory based on my own observations), it seems that this mainly effects Caravans that have been previously in front end collisions; this tweaks the unibody and prevents the hood from sitting/sealing right, allowing the water in. I have seen Caravans with clean factory strut towers, and these have the hood sealed right around the cowl. Mine has been in two front end accidents (both before I got it), and I think that has contributed to my strut towers rusting, as my hood sits cockeyed and even sticks up in the corner by the cowl on the driver's side about 1/4".