Allpar Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Super Moderator
13,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long story short: I'm about the 'pull the trigger' on a generic automotive scan tool for work and really don't want to cough up the $$$$ for the Modus or any of it's relatives but a $150 code reader won't have enough features for my purposes. I'm a front end/alignment tech and would like to deal with ABS and stability control issues as well as basic driveability.

I realize that OBD I vehicles are dropping off fast, even here in rustfree Arizona but would still like to have some basic scan capabilities for them. I say 'OBD I' since the OBD II stuff is becoming quite inexpensive.

·
Super Moderator
13,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Bump.

I'm still doing research and have more questions than answers............if I want to go past a basic OBD II code reader unit.

·
KOG
6,995 Posts
Amazon has EVO kits listed from 976 to over 4000 depending on application.

·
Super Moderator
13,926 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ImperialCrown said:
We have an OTC Genisys at work to handle the makes that the Chrysler DRB/WiTech won't.
It does a wide range of years and vehicles with all the accessories.
http://www.genisysotc.com/features.php
Nice tool but almost $4,000 is way out of my price range :(

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
what is your Budget, because to get a decent scantool that does all the stuff you want is going to cost a LOT of $$$$ your only choice is probably going to be the SnapOn MT2500, as those can be had very cheaply now (but you won't be able to read CAN Bus equipped vehicles)

·
Super Moderator
21,357 Posts
It is difficult for a premium scan tool to pay for itself when used for personal use-only duty. Money buys capability. Used is OK as long as the manufacturer still supports it.
Would your employer consider it a money-maker for the business and invest in a really good one? Does your shop also have Alldata access?