Allpar Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1999 chry.sebring coupe 2.5L smokes out tail pipe when I turn on ac. please hit me back im a fellow lube technician of Chrysler in cali of 15 years @ shaver auto center Thanks.

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
Welcome to Allpar!
I think a good first step would be determining what the smoke is-- what color is it and what does it smell like?
It would also be a good idea to pull computer codes, either by the "key dance" (works in my 2005 Caravan) or a reader.

·
KOG
6,994 Posts
?! WT?

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
KOG, I assume that you're talking about the key dance. Chrysler apparently retained the functionality for a while after OBD-II came online. Instead of a blinking CEL, the digital odometer reads out the codes, which are OBD P-codes, not the old 2-digit ones, and then "dOnE" to indicate the end of codes. My buddy has a '97 Wrangler that seems to have the old 2-digit codes, though.

EDIT: Just to make sure I wasn't remembering things wrong, I went out and disconnected the MAP sensor on the van. Sure enough, I got a CEL and came back with P0108, which is a MAP code that could result from an open ground, according to OBD-codes.com.
http://www.obd-codes.com/p0108

·
KOG
6,994 Posts
o, I was referring to smoke when A/C running. That seems beyond strange to me.

·
Super Moderator
21,351 Posts
What engine oil are you using? I have seen some high-mileage Mitsubishi 2.5L V6 engines with oil burning/smoking issues. I have a '98 JX with the 2.5L and 122K miles that smokes at odd times. Sometimes it's at start up, especially after it's after sitting awhile and sometimes it's when it is hot and climbing hills.
It's the infamous Mitsubishi valve seals from the '80's -'90's. The rubber has worn and hardened with heat.