Allpar Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am concerned about the tires on my 2012 Challenger SRT8

I have 1,400 miles on the stock tires Good Year Eagle F1 supercar, front 245/45/ZR20 and rear 255/45/ZR20.

After detailing the car I noticed cuts or separations in the sidewalls at the end of the tread area. I have been an auto mechanic for over 20 years and I have never seen anything like this.

I took the car back to the dealer today and they have never seen this either. They recommend I change all 4 because all 4 are separated the same way, some worse than others. Funny thing is I noticed when they showed me the price for the four tires they were not the factory Good Year tires. I told them I felt it was a problem with the tires and that I should not have to pay to have them replaced. The air pressure is set at the cold recommendation of 32 PSI. I checked the air pressure after driving home which is about 40 miles and the PSI was 47 PSI, pretty normal I would say. I have not driven the car in any extreme manner like hard cornering or anything like that. The dealer service rep said they will get back to me??? I will post any results. Does anyone have the same or similar issue? I have some pictures can someone tell me how to attach pictures? Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
21,365 Posts
This is why the Chrysler warranty and the tire manufacturer warranties are kept separate. There should be a separate tire warranty flyer in your glove box papers. You might want an opinion from a Good Year tire dealer.
I have seen problems like this before and coverage is a coin-flip. Good Year may have to make the final decision or adjustment. It is probably not Chrysler's problem. Stay pro-active on this, get everything in writing and remain courteous..

·
Registered
560 Posts