Allpar Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
LOAD "*",8,1
Joined
·
982 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, it turns out all of the audio apps in the Cherokee's uConnect system are essentially disabled pending removal. I'm wondering if this is a harbinger of an upcoming Android Auto update?

Incidentally, Waze just opend the beta program for their Android Auto implementation. Just love the timing, here I am having just picked up a car WITHOUT FRIGGING ANDROID AUTO....
 

·
The "Front-Line" Perspective
Joined
·
3,245 Posts
Well, it turns out all of the audio apps in the Cherokee's uConnect system are essentially disabled pending removal. I'm wondering if this is a harbinger of an upcoming Android Auto update?

Incidentally, Waze just opend the beta program for their Android Auto implementation. Just love the timing, here I am having just picked up a car WITHOUT FRIGGING ANDROID AUTO....
From my understanding, there is nothing we can do about updating the Uconnect to accept any smartphone second screen capability. I've tried many different avenues to have Android Auto in my Charger.
 

·
LOAD "*",8,1
Joined
·
982 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
From my understanding, there is nothing we can do about updating the Uconnect to accept any smartphone second screen capability. I've tried many different avenues to have Android Auto in my Charger.
Yeah, I just kind of wonder. I mean, the thing has the physical wiring for it, so it'd just be a matter of upating the software. Mazda's doing it.

When you get right down to it, I'm actually using the adaptive cruise pretty much every day, so I don't regret going Cherokee over Compass. But it is a little...vexing. :)
 

·
The "Front-Line" Perspective
Joined
·
3,245 Posts
Yeah, I just kind of wonder. I mean, the thing has the physical wiring for it, so it'd just be a matter of upating the software. Mazda's doing it.

When you get right down to it, I'm actually using the adaptive cruise pretty much every day, so I don't regret going Cherokee over Compass. But it is a little...vexing. :)
Wait until you're in a round-a-bout and the FCW locks your brakes up from reading a car waiting to enter the loop. Then the real fun begins!
 
  • Like
Reactions: DarkSky

·
LOAD "*",8,1
Joined
·
982 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Wait until you're in a round-a-bout and the FCW locks your brakes up from reading a car waiting to enter the loop. Then the real fun begins!
In America, cars don't wait to enter roundabouts. "Yield" is generally interpreted as "ok, he can yield to me." We don't hold with them euro commie things like roundabouts and turn signals and fuel efficiency and stuff. Yee haw. :p

That was a joke, before anyone gets all up in arms. Relax, it's just the Internet ;)
 

·
The "Front-Line" Perspective
Joined
·
3,245 Posts
In America, cars don't wait to enter roundabouts. "Yield" is generally interpreted as "ok, he can yield to me." We don't hold with them euro commie things like roundabouts and turn signals and fuel efficiency and stuff. Yee haw. :p

That was a joke, before anyone gets all up in arms. Relax, it's just the Internet ;)
While in L.A. I noticed that a yellow light meant that you turn left 5 seconds after it goes red. Very different driving culture. People lock up the brakes on yellows here.
 
  • Like
Reactions: npaladin2000

·
Super Moderator
1966 Crown Coupe, 2016 200 S AWD, 1962 Lark Daytona V8.
Joined
·
22,945 Posts
There is an 'over-the-air' software update that must eventually be performed on 2013-2016 vehicles with the RA3 and RA4 radios.
It is covered in TSB # 08-028-17:
"All MY13-16 vehicles sold in the U.S. with the RA3 or RA4 radio can now receive software updates “over-the-air”. Updates to software level 17.11.07 will occur in a phased roll-out. The software is updated through the built-in cellular modem in the radio which is connected to the Sprint® 3G network. Customers will see a notification on their radio screen when new software is available for their radio. The owner will have the option to update the radio or schedule the update for later. There is not an option to decline the update indefinitely. The update must be performed".
 

·
LOAD "*",8,1
Joined
·
982 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
There is an 'over-the-air' software update that must eventually be performed on 2013-2016 vehicles with the RA3 and RA4 radios.
It is covered in TSB # 08-028-17:
"All MY13-16 vehicles sold in the U.S. with the RA3 or RA4 radio can now receive software updates “over-the-air”. Updates to software level 17.11.07 will occur in a phased roll-out. The software is updated through the built-in cellular modem in the radio which is connected to the Sprint® 3G network. Customers will see a notification on their radio screen when new software is available for their radio. The owner will have the option to update the radio or schedule the update for later. There is not an option to decline the update indefinitely. The update must be performed".
Great, I'll be interested to see whatthe update does. Assuming it also applies to 2017 vehicles.
 

·
Super Moderator
1966 Crown Coupe, 2016 200 S AWD, 1962 Lark Daytona V8.
Joined
·
22,945 Posts
The bulletin does not state that it applies to 2017 vehicles...yet.
You may want to ask at the dealer or go to the Uconnect website if you haven't already. Does yours display a message saying that the audio apps are disabled?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
I just got the over the air update to my 2014 for the U Connect 8.4. It was working fine before the update, but now the backup camera is hosed. The screen for the camera is washed out; i.e. the brightness is too high and the contrast is too low; can't make out much. Called U connect help and of course they haven't heard of this issue before. So, the question is...Is there a setting in a hidden menu somewhere to adjust the screen parameters? I really don't care much for the new look either, but I guess I didn't like the original much, but got used to it. I haven't had good luck at the dealer with tech issues in the past and I doubt they know anything about how to solve this.
 

·
Official Mopar Reps
Joined
·
58 Posts
Hi @Tecqboy,

Our engineers are aware of the washed out back up camera concern and are working to provide a resolution to customers as soon as possible. Unfortunately we don't have an ETA at this time however I will post any additional information I receive on this thread. I apologize for any inconvenience this causes.

Andrea
Mopar Social Care Specialist
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Did anyone ever get any info on an update? The salesman promised us that we'd get aa by summer end and nothing. Now the dealership won't help. We're tech nerds and honestly it helped close the sale for us.
 

·
Official Mopar Reps
Joined
·
58 Posts
Hi Mrtrex2u,

Our Uconnect team has advised that performing a hard reset on your Uconnect system by following these steps should fix this concern: Settings -> System Information -> Reset to Factory Default. Please be advised this will delete any saved information such as radio presets, Bluetooth pairings, etc.. If this doesn't help please send us a PM with your VIN so we can investigate further!

Andrea
Mopar Social Care Specialist
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi Mrtrex2u,

Our Uconnect team has advised that performing a hard reset on your Uconnect system by following these steps should fix this concern: Settings -> System Information -> Reset to Factory Default. Please be advised this will delete any saved information such as radio presets, Bluetooth pairings, etc.. If this doesn't help please send us a PM with your VIN so we can investigate further!

Andrea
Mopar Social Care Specialist

Update just happened yesterday in the PM on my '14 RAM. I'll try the reset to bring the camera back into use.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top